Doctoral Fellowships

The Hammill Institute on Disabilities may from time to time award a Hammill Institute on Disabilities Doctoral Fellowship, an activity that furthers the Institute’s charitable mission. The purpose of the Fellowship is to provide financial assistance to students enrolled in a doctoral program, either full or part time. Faculty members identified by the Institute Board are invited to nominate students for consideration and agree to monitor those students who are selected to receive Fellowships.

To be eligible for a Fellowship, a student must meet all of the following criteria.

  1. Be formally accepted into a doctoral program,
  2. require financial assistance to complete the degree,
  3. be a U.S. citizen, and
  4. be in a program of study benefiting the field of special education, including, but not limited to, teacher preparation, leadership development, or educational psychology.

The following is a list of Hammill Institute on Disabilities Doctoral Fellowship recipients along with their faculty advisors.

Recipient Award Year Advisor University
Tamla Lee 2017 Joe Boyle Temple University
Brenda de la Garza 2018 Steve Chamberlain UT Rio Grande Valley
Leah M. Zimmermann 2018 Deborah Reed University of Iowa
Alexcia Moore 2019 Margaret Flores Auburn University
Fatmana Kara Deniz 2019 Kyle Higgins University of Neveda, Las Vegas
Monique Matute-Chavarria 2019 Kyle Higgins University of Neveda, Las Vegas
Heather Francis 2019 David Scanlon Boston College
Lori Dunn 2019 David Scanlon Boston College
Frankie Norris 2020 Bertina Combes University of North Texas
Virginia McClurg 2020 R. Steve McCallum The University of Tennessee, Knoxville
Lydia Sollenberger 2020 John Hoover University of Colorado Boulder